Back to Work

Standard

I have been back in the ICU for the last couple of days. Nothing really exciting. In fact, a lot of our patients are speaking (which means they’re not intubated nor sedated, which means they shouldn’t be in the ICU!)

I have been spending the last two days troubleshooting my patient’s fever of unknown origin… cultures all negative, WBC normal, meds changed around, CT of all his bits and pieces to eliminate lymphoma/abcesses… a strange clinical picture really. He does have an extensive psychiatric history but we’ve also eliminated Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome…. We’re also investigating his apparent obtundedness, but in my opinion it is ‘selective hearing’ 🙂 He definitely chooses to whom and when he’ll respond to commands! As long as I don’t get in his bad books because his history says he has homicidal ideations. Yikes!

Tip of the day for my nursing folks: Put a disposable blue pad over the bedpan before you slide it under the patient. Best tip I have ever learned. Truly! No rinsing of the bedpan post-usage. Just fold it up and dispose! Try it, you’ll like it!

About tibisoux

I graduated in 2010 with a BScN and knew within 6 months of feeling like an underappreciated, stressed out waitress that the medical floor was not for me. (Mad respect to my brothers and sisters on the floors. Keep calm and carry on!) After moving across the country, a brief stint in endoscopy (you have an orifice, we’ll fill it!) and hospice palliative care, I scored a permanent full-time position in a major Canadian Med/Surg ICU. In my free time (ha!) I love to do yoga knit, read, spend time outside, swim, cook and eat. I hope to use this space as a place to reflect on my practice and share some of the craziness I see and do during my shifts. All stories I share are true, but names have been changed to protect the privacy and identities of my colleagues, patients and their families.

Code Whites